Courage for Your Calling

Where does courage for your calling come from? It comes from a place deeper than words. For deeper than words is the Word. Deeper than the abstract is the incarnate. And if language is to be good, it must be in covenant with the truth. And if the truth is to be good, it must offer us the choice to give ourselves freely to it. In a word, it must be beautiful.

And—as Solzhenitsyn said—if the proud arm of unbelief removes the trees called the True and the Good from the garden, chopping them to stumps, then the tree called Beauty, pushing up from the homely root of self-giving love, will stretch out her bows and do the work of all three.

Recent Articles

Your Weakness Saves You, Part 2

Weakness (if we let it) can drive us through the crowd of cares and distractions until we — like the hemorrhage-weakened woman in the Capernaum throng — reach the place of the One who knows us. We feel the encounter. Weakness is turned to strength.

Your Weakness Saves You, Part 1

What is the secret strength of weakness? If we consider our unlikely ally long enough, we may grasp with new wonder the treasure that has grasped us.

Disappointment & The Parable of the Waterfall

“Life can be counted on to provide all the pain that any of us might need,” someone has said.1 The key, therefore, is not outmaneuvering pain, but learning how to suffer through it well.  This is not always our natural response, but it can become so. We can grow. We can learn to take pains […]

Books

“What a delight to read new literature in the tradition of J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis.” ~ Brian O.